Frightfall Read a thon

Cue scary organ music!!!

Duh Duh Duh Duh…

Duh Duh Duh Duh…

I’m seriously super excited about this read a thon! Well, I am super excited about October in general, it’s always been my favorite time of year and Halloween is definitely my favorite holiday!!!

SO! I have a challenge for you guys!

This one is going to be a little different but it’s super easy.

You’re sitting by a campfire with some friends. The wind is blowing and the air is just getting that crisp feeling. The beach is just a few feet in front of you and you can hear the surf crashing upon the shore.

Now… answer these questions.

  • Who would you want warming you up?! (Fictional characters please!!)
  • What are you listening to? (Music or a story)
  • What snacks would you have?
  • We know you brought a book, which one is it!?
  • It’s your turn to tell a spooky story, which one is it going to be?

And just for fun but not part of the challenge…

  • Do you celebrate Halloween?
  • What’s your fav horror story?
  • Fav type of villain? (Vamp, zombie, etc)
  • Fav horror movie?
  • Fav bad guy!
  • Halloween costume you plan on wearing (or would) this year.

My answers!

I’d love to have Eric Northman with me! Yes, I know he’s a vampire and I still love him. What can I say, I like bad boys! We’re listening to music, Blue October which is just creepy and eerie enough to lend a hand to the moment. We’re making smores OF COURSE! I have to have my marshmallows perfectly coated with brown prior to putting them on the cracker but I’m not letting any of the gooey, yummy goodness get onto my copy of Alice in Zombieland! I’ve always loved a good retelling of Bloody Mary and on the beach means far away from any mirrors!

  • Do you celebrate Halloween? YES!!!
  • What’s your fav horror story? Gerald’s Game by Stephen King. That book seriously freaked me out!
  • Fav type of villain? (Vamp, zombie, etc) Well… demons seriously freak me out. Not sure if they’re my fav but they definitely hit my scream button!
  • Fav horror movie? Evil Dead!!!
  • Fav bad guy!  Eric Northman!!! 😉
  • Halloween costume you plan on wearing (or would) this year. Alice!!

Winner of this challenge gets…

The giveaway **Int**
The Newsflesh Trilogy!!

Book Review: Feed by Mira Grant

Book Review: Deadline by Mira Grant

Book Review: Blackout by Mira Grant

Now onto my updates!!!

Plan to read:

Updates:

Monday 10/1

Number of books I’ve read today:  1!
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Plan to read — Birthright!
Notes: What a fabulously easy read! Perfect for the Halloween season!

Tuesday 10/2

Number of books I’ve read today: 0
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: Plan to read —
Notes: oh my goodness! What the bleep happened to my day! Only read a little bit of Griffin’s Rising. Sad face!

Wednesday 10/3

Number of books I’ve read today: 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2
Books: Plan to read — Binding Arbitration by Elizabeth Marx
Notes: Ok, so this is actually a romance but in my defense it was for a tour and it was really good!

Thursday 10/4

Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books: Plan to read — Griffin’s Rising
Notes:

Friday 10/5

Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books: Plan to read — Bone Wires
Notes:

Saturday 10/6

Number of books I’ve read today:
Total number of books I’ve read:
Books: Plan to read — The Lurking Man!
Notes:

23 comments

  1. Great mini-challenge, Nova! I’m also reading The Lurking Man! How funny! I’m behind too. I haven’t even posted my personal starting line post! I’ll work on the mini-challenge when I do my post. Thanks again for doing this and for joining me for another read-a-thon.

    New blog layout? It looks great!

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I have been working on it 😀

      You can definitely tell it’s Monday, everyone’s so behind. hahah… I was going to do this last night but I was beat! Can’t wait for the Lurking Man, sounds so good!

  2. Okay, my starting line is up with your mini-challenge included in the post. Hope you like it! http://castlemacabre.blogspot.com/2012/10/frightfall-read-thon-starting.html

    Thanks again for hosting!

    1. LOVE it!!! 😀

  3. Thanks Nova this was a great challenge, good luck with your goals, here are my answers:

    http://fictionstateofmind.blogspot.com/2012/09/frightfall-readathon-update-challenge.html?spref=tw

    1. Thank you! I spent last night watching Dancing with the Stars so … not off to a great start. LOL…

  4. I have to admit I have not heard of any of the books in your TBR up there! I’ll have to go check them out and see if I need some! I did pretty good yesterday, finishing up a book I was already halfway done with, not so much today since my cold, and work really kicked in! 😛 Lovely blog! Enjoy the read-a-thon!

    1. Just finished Birthright. That one is a trilogy but it has witches, ghosts, vampires AND demons! And it all makes sense!! I love it!

      Sadly I over did myself with exercising so I’m exhausted! But that’ll be great for sitting and reading all day today 😀

    1. LOVE your answers!!

      1. Thanks!!! I thought choosing the mist book was witty. Since in Percy Jackson mortals can’t see mythological creatures because of the Mist so I thought It was a good idea to tie starcrossed and percy jackson since they are both mythological series LOL 😀

      2. Fabulous idea! Although sadly I have yet to read Percy Jackson 😦 I’m so behind on the times.

  5. Thank you for hosting this challenge!! Good Luck with your reading goals!!

    Here are my answers – http://www.4ahappierme.com/2012/10/frightfall-read-thon-challenge.html

    1. Love it! I’m already behind on my reading! LOL Hope you’re doing well!

  6. Here’s my challenge post: http://my-book-obsession.blogspot.com/2012/10/frightfall-read-thon-mini-challenges.html

    Thanks for hosting, this was fun 🙂

    Have a frightfull reading 😉

    1. Love your answers! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. You’re doing great! I really loved The Lurking Man. I hope you enjoy it too. Twitter chat tonight at 6:30 CST. Hope you can make it!

    1. Ack! Just got home. I’m about to pick up the Lurking Man actually yay!!! 😀

  8. […] first FrightFall challenge is hosted by Nova at My Seryniti. Nova asks: You’re sitting by a campfire with some friends. The wind is blowing and the air is […]

  9. I’m not getting much reading done this week, but I had to have a little fun with challenges!

    Friday Free-for-All: Challenges!

    1. I was hoping I’d get more read but I’m falling behind fast!

  10. […] thanks to Michelle for hosting and trying to get us herd of cats on the same page. Kudo also to Nova and Melissa for hosting a couple of great challenges. Thank you all! Like this:LikeBe the first to […]

Leave a comment