Guest Post: Researching the Paranormal by Jill Cooper

Researching the paranormal by Jill Cooper, Author of The Demon Royale

I absolutely love this and hope that you will help me welcome Jill Cooper to My Seryniti while she discusses researching for The Demon Royale. And I must say my review is coming Nov 14th for this one and it’s good! If you haven’t read The Demon Royale yet and you’re into the paranormal and young adult, The Demon Royale is definitely for you!

And now, welcome Jill Cooper!! I love this, but especially the part about the pancakes!

 You read about it all the time. The countless hours that went into researching a historical romance. Or how the crime writer goes out with the police for a few days, goes to the shooting range, and spends time interviewing detectives to get procedures down.

You can’t really interview a slayer or a werewolf hunter, so when you’re writing a paranormal book how do you do research? I guess the right question should be, how much research do I do when writing a paranormal book?

Cover Reveal: The Demon Royale by Jill Cooper

Zilch.

Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration. But it’s not like I can call a slayer up on the phone and ask, “What’s the best type of wood for staking a vampire? Birch? Cedar?”

Really there has been some along the way. Years really. I spent hours watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’ve read countless werewolf novels. I love ghost movies and I’m a big horror fan.

Put it all together and you have the skills to effectively world build and with a creative mind you can go in a gizzlion directions. So I guess if you count all that, I’ve done countless hours of devoted, mind numbing research.

Now that paranormal is taken care of, I guess I’m all set. Except oops, I’d be wrong.

There’s always the real life stuff that gets in the way of the paranormal. In Demon Royale there are doctors, nurses, shop owners, tourists, and oh yeah, pancakes.

(Excuse me while I run to IHOP for research.)

The Dream Slayer series is based in Vermont, in my favorite little cozy town, so I’ve gone there a few times and taken pictures of buildings, talked to people, and just to be inspired by the people.

I’ve researched the CDC, power of attorney, FBI, and the ability to put a town under a strict quarantine. Is it labor intrusive? No, not really. It’s a simple google search and then reading a few webpages.

It’s not like researching dialect, slang of the Victorian era. And for that thank God! Or I probably wouldn’t have written it. Yes, I am the lazy writer. Though I prefer to think of it as I like to write like I like to live; by my own rules.

Paranormal allows you to do pretty much anything you want in the confines of the universe rules you build for yourself. Break your own rules, and well, that’s a problem unless you have a very good reason and kind find a loophole. But, working within your own creative world gives you freedom to write any story you want. You are only limited by your imagination and the stories that you want to tell.

Sounds pretty good to me.

About Jill Cooper:

Jill Cooper loves tea more than coffee and is obsessed over finding that perfect recipe. She lives in Danvers, MA with two cats, a toddler, a husband, and a 1964 yellow taxi. Her life is chaotic, but fun. She is currently working on a new Sci-fi thriller and the sequel to the Dream Slayer. She can be contacted at http://www.jillacooper.com

Links:

Leave a Reply

